Discussing DUI Laws With A Criminal Defense Lawyer In Mankato, MN
In Minnesota, DUI laws define the exact penalties for the offenses according to the driver’s previous record and their blood-alcohol content reading. The state can apply a lesser charge if the driver had a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.06 percent. A Criminal Defense Lawyer in Mankato MN helps drivers build a defense and avoid a conviction.
The First Offense
Any driver who is convicted of a first-offense DUI receives a jail sentence of no more than ninety days. The fine applied to the conviction is $1,000. However, the driver must have a blood-alcohol content reading that is below 0.16 percent.
Aggravated DUI Charges
A driver is guilty of an aggravated DUI if they have a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.16 percent. The driver receives a jail sentence of no more than one year in county lockup. The fine for the offense is $3,000.
Does Minnesota Have Implied Consent?
Yes, the state utilizes the implied consent ruling. Any driver that gets behind the wheel while intoxicated is required to submit to testing according to the ruling. If the driver refuses, the state convicts the driver of refusing to submit to testing and sentences the driver to a maximum of one year in jail. The fine for the offense is $3,000.
How are Underage Drivers Punished?
Any underage driver who has a blood-alcohol content reading lower than 0.08 percent receives the minimum sentence. The fine for the offense is $700. The driver receives a ninety-day jail sentence and a driver’s license suspension. If the blood-alcohol content reading is at least 0.08 percent, the driver receives the same sentence as any other driver for a first-offense DUI.
What Administrative Penalties Apply?
A first-offense DUI conviction leads to a ninety-day driver’s license suspension. The driver can receive a limited license after fifteen days. However, the driver could avoid the suspension by installing an ignition interlocking device into their vehicle.
In Minnesota, a DUI is defined with a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.08 percent. If the driver doesn’t have a previous record of DUI charges, the state imposes the penalties for a first-offense DUI charge. Defendants who need assistance with a DUI charge contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Mankato MN visit Blatzlawminnesota.com right now.
Follow us on Twitter and get latest updates.